28 Oct

The ADR Institute of Canada (ADRIC) announces that Wendy Hassen has been chosen as this year’s recipient of the National Lionel J. McGowan Award. This Award recognizes those who have made an outstanding contribution to the development and success of ADRIC on a national level, and have contributed significantly to the promotion and development of alternative dispute resolution across Canada.

Andy Butt, President of ADRIC, commented: “Wendy has worked tirelessly for years to consult, design and guide the Federation (ADRIC and its Affiliates) into a new Memo of Understanding, signed in February of this year. Wendy also facilitated numerous meetings and consultations to lead ADRIC into its new Strategic Plan. Wendy’s approach to everything is passionate and consultative.”

Wendy is a past president of ADR Alberta which nominated her for the award. She served as their Affiliate Representative to the ADRIC Board for four years. ADRIA joins ADRIC in acknowledging Wendy’s significant contributions to ADR in Alberta and across Canada.

ADRIC will formally present this award to Wendy Hassen during the ADRIC 2019 conference in Victoria, BC, on November 21, 2019 at 1:00 p.m. PT.


For further information please contact:

Janet McKay, Executive Director
ADR Institute of Canada (ADRIC)
416-487-4733 x 105


With over 2000 member practitioners drawn from every corner of the country, ADRIC is Canada’s leading professional organization for alternative dispute resolution promoting conflict resolution through arbitration, mediation and other forms of ADR. ADRIC sets a national standard for best practices and quality assurance for industry-leading arbitration and mediation rules, codes of ethics and conduct, and discipline and complaint procedures.

ADRIC’s affiliates include ADRBC (BC), ADRIA (AB), ADRSK (SK), ADRIM (MB), ADRIO (ON), IMAQ (QC) and ADRAI (Atlantic Provinces).

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap